Making Mathematics simpler and joyful – Magic math

A journey in EC&I 831 to make Math easy for everyone.

image via Aloha

Hello Everyone

This is indeed the stepping stone and I am so excited to be part of “EC&I 831 – Fall 2017 Social Media & Open Education” which has enthused to share my Love and Passion for Mathematics.I have always been fascinated by my mathematical studies and having a flair for the subject. I would call this as journey of learning and knowledge sharing.

My topic for this blog is “Math with Magic”, this magic happened when I was in grade 8th of my schooling where I was struggling to make complex mathematical calculations, whenever I was supposed to make complex calculations like multiplication of five digits or more I used to take a minimum of 5 to 10 minutes and I wished I had a calculator and it was allowed in school,  trust me I started loathing it. This was until when I was introduce me to Vedic Math (I call it as Math with Magic) by using this logic I could do it with in 30 seconds.

As  a mathematics lecturer I have handled students from secondary education to undergraduate studies and one thing that I have noticed in my students is the fear of mathematics, right from the grade 1 to 12th the students are bombarded with the mathematics syllabus containing arithmetic, algebra, geometry they are taught to solve the mathematical problems with standard techniques and not by logic and shortcuts .

In vedic mathematical system complex math problems can be easily solved using vedic method .For example can you multiply 7658426 x 9999999 or find a square root of 99975 or a cube root of 438976 in 30 seconds ? Without using a calculator? No ? , but I say yes it is possible and trust me its easy and the method is simple , one will love mathematics with this methods and by the end of this course am sure you will say “MATH IS FUN AND EASY “

What is vedic math

image via India today

Vedic Mathematics is the name given to a supposedly ancient system of calculation which was “rediscovered” from the Vedas between 1911 and 1918 by Sri Bharati Krishna Tirthaji Maharaj (1884-1960). According to Tirthaji, all of Vedic mathematics is based on sixteen Sutras, or word-formulae. For example, “Vertically and Crosswise” is one of these Sutras. These formulae are intended to describe the way the mind naturally works, and are therefore supposed to be a great help in directing the student to the appropriate method of solution. None of these sutras has ever been found in Vedic literature, nor are its methods consistent with known mathematical knowledge from the Vedic era.

Perhaps the most striking feature of the Tirthaji system is its coherence. The whole system is interrelated and unified: the general multiplication method, for example, is easily reversed to allow one-line divisions, and the simple squaring method can be reversed to give one-line square roots. And, these are all easily understood. This unifying quality is very satisfying, it makes arithmetic easy and enjoyable, and it encourages innovation.

Difficult arithmetic problems and huge sums can often be solved immediately by Tirthaji’s methods. These striking and beautiful methods are a part of a system of arithmetic which Tirthaji claims to be far more methodical than the modern system. “Vedic” Mathematics is said to manifest the coherent and unified structure of arithmetic, and its methods are complementary, direct and easy.

The simplicity of the Tirthaji system means that calculations can be carried out mentally, though the methods can also be written down. There are many advantages in using a flexible, mental system. Pupils can invent their own methods; they are not limited to one method. This leads to more creative, interested and intelligent pupils.

Interest in the Tirthaji’s system is growing in education, where mathematics teachers are looking for something better and finding the Vedic system is the answer. Research is being carried out in many areas including the effects learning the Tirthaji system has on children; developing new, powerful but easy applications of these Sutras in arithmetic and algebra.The real beauty and effectiveness of the Tirthaji system cannot be fully appreciated without practicing the system. One can then see why its enthusiasts claim that it is the most refined and efficient calculating system known.

“Vedic Mathematics” refers to a technique of calculation based on a set of 16 Sutras, or aphorisms, as algorithms and their upa-sutras or corollaries derived from these Sutras. Its enthusiasts advance the claim that any mathematical problem can be solved mentally with these sutras.

Source

LEARNING PLAN

Based on the logic and the methods of vedic math we will learn by using a lot of information which is available online , I will be sharing videos from social media, online communities videos, text resources and will be writing blogs to support the videos so that learning to solve complex mathematical problems in a simple way will be fun and exciting.

Thank you for your time in reading my blog.

Sapna Bajantri

12 thoughts on “Making Mathematics simpler and joyful – Magic math

  1. This sounds really neat! I am so bad at math and I always have been. It is great that you are looking for new approaches in integrate into your teaching practices. I look forward to following your journey and I hope to learn some new things myself!

    Like

  2. Hi Sapna,

    I am very intrigued by your topic. I look forward to reading your posting as you unfold your findings. I am always looking for fun ways to teach math and can’t wait to try some of the strategies that you will share with us.

    Like

  3. I used to watch a clip on Youtube that shows a group of Indian student who calculates very complicated math and gives answers within 1 or 2 seconds. Now I know that it’s Vedic math that they use. Very impressive. Keep up with the work and I am looking forward to read another blog of you.

    Like

  4. As a secondary math teacher, I look forward to your future posts! I know the feeling of the dread of another new math lesson and hope to use some of what you share with my students!

    Like

  5. As another fellow math lover and teacher, I am looking forward to learning more about these methods! Hopefully I’ll be ale to apply some of these techniques in my math classes as well so my students can too understand why I think math is amazing and fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

